Picture of the week – The first sixteen

This post is part of my project to publish my favorite new image every week during 2017. Shot in the previous week.

Well, actually it’s the first fifteen images since I dropped one. I didn’t take any pictures at all in of the weeks. But I might consider myself forgiven since I bought a horse instead then.

So how has it been and how do I feel about the result so far?

It definitively put a lot of focus on photography in the sense of actually taking pictures. To publish a picture every week means you have to take photos. So I’ve learned to always bring a camera with me even if it’s just a simple point and shoot (you could argue my Sony RX1 being simple but that’s another discussion). There is no time for planned excursion and safaris every week so instead I need to catch the smaller moments that just happen. To stop by the roadside to grab a sunset or wonder of for fifteen minutes while the kids are training. It has saved me a few times.
So lesson number one; always (and I mean always) have a camera readily available. Which leads to lesson number two; always charge your batteries when you get home. When you are ready to leave again in the morning it’s to late.

And the result? Well, I’m pretty pleased. Not everyone is a masterpiece (perhaps none is) but a few I like very much and all of the rest has a least some redeeming features.

dsc00262
Week 2. A new years resolution of sorts
dsc00497b
Week 3. Stuck in the ice
dsc05251b
Week 4. Urban beauty
dsc00859
Week 5. Stillness in the archipelago
dsc07208c
Week 6. Slowly flowing water
dsc00941b
Week 7. A bonsai island
dsc01218
Week 9. Fairy dusk
DSC01990c
Week 10. Days are getting longer
DSC02429
Week 11. Catkins of Spring
DSC03741c
Week 12. Sunset in the archipelago
DSC04722B
Week 13. The blue hour
DSC08941b
Week 14. London in the spring
DSC08730
Week 15. Regent’s Park
DSC05460
Week 16. A drive-by sunset
DSC05897_HDR_edit2
Week 17. An eerie spring

This post is part of my project to publish my favorite new image every week during 2017. Shot in the previous week.
Hopefully will this be an inspiration to get out and shot and to bring the camera with me wherever I go.

Copyright: Lasse Thomasson 2017

2 comments on “Picture of the week – The first sixteen

Leave a Reply

